Wilde drops out of Murray mayor’s race due to cancer | The Salt …

Elections » Salt Lake County councilman withdraws, cites fear of not completing term.

David Wilde is dropping out of the race for Murray mayor after learning that his cancer has spread, making it uncertain he would be able to complete his term if elected.

“I felt after much reflection that it would be unfair to the citizens of Murray to ask for their support for this important office without advising them of my situation,” said Wilde, 57, a Salt Lake County councilman since 2001 and two-time council chairman.

Knowing how time-consuming and emotionally draining a political campaign can be, he added that “after discussions with many people, especially my family, I have finally concluded there are more important ways for me to spend my time and emotional energies at this time in my life.”

Wilde came in second to Ted Eyre in Murray’s Aug. 13 primary, trailing the front-runner 1,879 to 1,193, according to unofficial results. Murray Councilman Jim Brass was third with 1,149 votes.

Wilde said he hoped his withdrawal before the primary results are certified on Tuesday will allow Brass to be put on the Nov. 5 general election ballot as Eyre’s opponent. “I do not mean to endorse Jim Brass,” he added, “but only to express my desire that Murray residents be offered a meaningful choice.”

Wilde learned he had prostate cancer three years ago, believing since then that its slow-growing nature would allow him to “live a normal life for many years.” But he learned recently that “my cancer has taken a more aggressive course and has now spread to my bones. The likelihood of my being able to complete a full term as mayor is therefore in doubt.”

He apologized for the late date of his withdrawal, noting that “this information is new and completely unexpected,” and expressed hope that he had not let down his supporters.

“I especially appreciate my wife, Linda, as well as my children and family for their unfailing support and love,” Wilde said. “I hope that all will understand the decision I have made at this time.”

mikeg@sltrib.com

Twitter: @sltribmikeg

story continues below

story continues below

Copyright 2013 The Salt Lake Tribune. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

cancer

via cancer http://cancerwebs.blogspot.com/2013/08/wilde-drops-out-of-murray-mayor-race.html

Leave a Reply

